RSS

Why people are leaving WP.com?

19 May

I saw some posts yesterday about people leaving WP.com for good: they got tired about the limitations of WP.comand now they are with WP.org and of course with no limitations at all.

I just installed WP.org on my server (good hosting;) ) and realized that it looks A LOT better than the themes WP.com has. What would be the consecuenses of me changing the system? I have no idea, I hope somebody answers me this and help me out with here…

 PS: I might move to Cholito.org
Blink It


Technorati Tags: , ,
Search here:
, ,

 
23 Comments

Posted by on 19/05/2006 in Blogging, Wondering

 

23 responses to “Why people are leaving WP.com?

  1. sharlet

    21/05/2006 at 06:18

    I don’t understand what the difference is between the 2 websites? *puzzled*

     
  2. Alejandro

    21/05/2006 at 14:38

    well, in WP.com you can do what they let you, with your own host, you can do whatever you want to do 😉 we are limited here by what the WP.com dev team let us do. 😦

     
  3. Garry Fung

    21/05/2006 at 15:48

    I’m with Blogger, and I’ve been amazed by the WordPress templates that people have beem using. Plus tagging, and other features. But wordpress.com doesn’t support adsense, or even simple title banner changes. So called “no html code” policy is unduly restrictive.

    Maybe hosted service is the only option …

     
  4. Alejandro

    21/05/2006 at 17:38

    Well, I’m just waiting for a guy to send me his theme as it’s gonna be the one I’ll use and then I will make the move…well, at least that’s my plan, it might change 😛

     
  5. sharlet

    23/05/2006 at 16:31

    Ah, so WP.org is the one that my hostess installed for me. 🙂 I think Blogger sucks; it’s always so slow and sometimes doesn’t record my comments! >:-(

     
  6. Alejandro

    23/05/2006 at 21:20

    that’s just mean!! And yes, WP.org is the software and WP.com is the software installed in a free host. I’m still wondering about the change 😛

     
  7. Chrono Cr@cker

    29/05/2006 at 13:37

    Me thinks you should stick with .com. The only diferences you get are more themes, and Javascript support…..

     
  8. Alejandro

    31/05/2006 at 05:13

    yeah, that’s the thing I would like to have: theme and java 😦 maybe some day we will 🙂

     
  9. Jack Yan

    03/06/2006 at 14:13

    I was encouraged by many to adopt WordPress. If I had more time, I would have—but now I doubt if I will. Last week, our server hard drive failed. On our server were two blogs: mine, on Blogger, which I know is limited; and Nigel Dunn’s, on WordPress. After the hard drive was replaced, he lost his. I still have mine and was back up within hours of the replacement. That experience alone will probably keep me on Blogger now, and I thank God I dragged my heels.

     
  10. Jack Yan

    03/06/2006 at 23:42

    I think it was on his own WordPress software, Alejandro (BTW I read your reply in coComment but I am not sure if it made it here).

     
  11. Alejandro

    04/06/2006 at 05:38

    some how it got deleted 😦 (when I posted I got a timeout)

    Anyway, I will have to think about this…need to be sure 😦

     
  12. Jack Yan

    04/06/2006 at 06:16

    My recommendation, after witnessing this hard drive failure (which, admittedly, was a freak incident), is a service that will allow you to back up your posts and comments. If WP has this for you on its own servers, then I say that is quite good.

     
  13. Alejandro

    04/06/2006 at 06:21

    well, it doesnt hehe bad thing

     
  14. Jack Yan

    04/06/2006 at 06:38

    How about Moveable Type, Alejandro? My friend Johnnie Moore is on it and is quite happy with it. I don’t know about back-ups though.

     
  15. Alejandro

    04/06/2006 at 14:59

    the thing is that I love wordpress and want to stay with it. The thing is or WP.com or WP.org

     
  16. Jack Yan

    04/06/2006 at 15:09

    In that case, stick with it, but host it yourself. I would find a way to back up the data—you don’t want your blog to disappear like it did for Nigel.

     
  17. Alejandro

    04/06/2006 at 15:40

    If I host it myself I would have the option to use phpmyadmin so I will be able to make a backup 😉 althou the comunity in WP.com is amazing 🙂

     
  18. Chrono Cr@cker

    04/06/2006 at 17:21

    hmm..Alej, is money your point of concern? If so, I can recommend some very good free hosts.

     
  19. Alejandro

    04/06/2006 at 21:35

    no, I have a host already 🙂 my concern was about using WP.com or WP.org 😉 I have some pro’s and contras

     
  20. Jack Yan

    04/06/2006 at 23:41

    I think it’s better to host it yourself after what you have told me. Just make back-ups regularly and you will be fine. From what I understand, there are a lot of limitations if WP were hosting it, plus if people are leaving, that may be a very good reason to carry out your self-hosting plan.

     
  21. Alejandro

    05/06/2006 at 02:27

    well, I have now a photo gallery with coppermine (which I’m planing to move it to Gallery 2.0), a groupware for testing (I love it hehe) and that’s it, the root is for now empty for what it could be my blog…

     
  22. hamza

    26/06/2006 at 11:29

    moved .. try to test my themes . my own blog . my designs . got host

    http://www.freewaydesign.com
    just add my designs there
    but i still adding some intersting stuff at my wordpress blog “here”
    http://hamza.wordpress.com
    hamza

     
  23. Alejandro

    20/07/2006 at 17:43

    I moved also to http://cholito.org as I want to use some features I like in WP.org

     

Leave a Reply

 
